I love September

imageDon’t get me wrong:  I could use another summer day.  But, where summer is filled with unstructured sunny days, September is delineated with schedules, timelines, and the academic calendar.  For me, it is filled with excitement, anticipation, and an opportunity to begin anew.  This is my time to affect change – meaningful change.

Just like making New Year’s resolutions, I use this time to reflect on the past and organize my thoughts on the coming year.  I would like to share some of my school year resolutions.

1.Read more books, articles, blogs and stay current with professional organizations.

Recommended reading: 

  • Teaching with Poverty:  What being poor does to kids’ brains and what schools can do about it by Eric Jensen (2009)
  • On the Pulse of the Morning by Maya Angelou written: Spoken at the Presidential Inauguration Ceremony, January 20, 1993.

Recommended blog:

2. Balance – take time for self, family, and friends.

  • Play with play dough.
  • Pick apples.
  • Read a good book.
  • Try a new food.
  • Learn a new language!

These sites and activities will guide my year.  As we begin our new year together, I look forward to catching up with colleagues, attending cutting edge workshops (see what is new at OCM BOCES!) and keeping balance. I vow to create time for professional connection, development, and reflection.  Let’s not get lost in the forest and focus on seeing the trees.  Take the time for yourself, your professional development, and remember to spend time with students whenever you can.  After all, that is why we do what we do.

Lisa Pye
LPye@ocmboces.org

Leave a Reply

